Awards: CWA Dagger Winners; Diagram Oddest Title Shortlist

The Crime Writers Association announced winners in 11 categories for the 2020 Dagger Awards. Good Girl, Bad Girl by Michael Robotham won the Gold Dagger for best crime novel of the year, with November Road by Lou Berney receiving a "highly commended" nod in the category. The debut winner was Revolution Never Lies by Josephine Moulds, with a "highly commended" going to The Spae-Wife by Anna Caig. Check out the complete list of Dagger winners here.


A six-book shortlist has been released for the 2020 Diagram Prize for the Oddest Book Title of the Year. Founded by Trevor Bounford and the late Bruce Robertson in 1978 "as a way to stave off boredom at the Frankfurt Book Fair," the Diagram Prize has had a home at the Bookseller and with legendary diarist Horace Bent since 1982. The winning title will be chosen by members of the public via an online vote, and a winner announced November 27. This year's shortlisted titles are:

A Dog Pissing at the Edge of a Path by Gregory Forth
Introducing the Medieval Ass by Kathryn L Smithies
Classical Antiquity in Heavy Metal Music by K.F.B. Fletcher and Osman Umurhan
How to Make Love to a Despot by Stephen D. Krasner
Lawnmowers: An Illus­trated History by Brian Radam
The Slaughter of Farmed Animals: Practical Ways to Enhance Animal Welfare by Temple Grandin and Michael Cockram

Powered by: Xtenit